retreats

Lean In

New Brunswick Fall 2007
Me at a very happy place in life

This has been a mantra of mine for a while.

The realization of sometimes people get way too much on their plate. And it’s brutal.

I’ve stopped saying “This too shall pass” and more of “What can I do?”

What I’ve learned:
It’s way more important to listen…
Lean in and hear what they’re saying..really what they’re saying…
Offer more ‘I love you’s’ than ‘this is what you can do’
And personally, when there’s moment of joy I lean into them
It’s not that life is hard
no, it’s really, really hard sometimes
but there are moment of joy that if truly present, I can experience them, be present in them.
And those memories carry me through the hard times.

So when life is hard what are some things that can be done? Self-care needs to be number one. It’s not because it’s an instant relief. It’s putting on the air mask so you can do what needs to be done.

According to Ayurveda we’re entering a very VATA period.

Autumn. Dryness.

Can you spend 5 minutes before bed applying some lotion or oil to your feet or hands?

Take a bath with some drops of lavender essential oils?

Turn off the devices and spend 5 minutes practicing a slow deep breath before you go to sleep. Sleep.Sleep in when you can. Stay in bed even if you think you’re really just going to get up, let yourself lay there. I’ve often thought that I’d just rather get up but if I lay there sometimes I’ll fall back asleep.

Watch a funny movie. Watch another one. Laughter raises the good hormones and feelings in your body. Even if laughter is the last thing you think you can do.

Drink more water to help your body keep functioning.

Simple things, not another to-do list item.

 

 

 

Leave a comment